Book Lists



Co-establihsed by IBBY and the iRead Foundation, the IBBY-iRead Oustanding Reading Promoter Award is a biennial award for reading promoters worldwide who have made outstanding contribution to children’s reading. 



Purpose of the Award


The Award is established with the hope to inspire a lasting commitment to the cause of reading promotion in the hope of spreading this dedication to others around the globe. 

The Award aims to encourage further investment by individuals, organizations and governments in the promotion of children’s reading and will stimulate educational innovation, give much greater access to children’s books and an enhanced profile for children’s reading promotion – key tools in global, social, economic and cultural development – all in the context of Article 17(C)) of the Convention on the Rights of the


The Award

The Award comprises the following elements:

-    200,000 RMB Yuan to each WINNER

-    150,000 RMB Yuan to each WINNER to be donated to a not-for-profit children’s reading promotion project selected by the WINNER.

-    An official certificate

-    A trophy

-    The expenses for a round-trip economy class tickets and hotel accommodation to allow the WINNERS and one accompanying person for each WINNER to attend the AWARD presentation (not exceeding seven nights).

Judging Criteria

The jury will identify the winning individuals by a demonstration of their commitment to exploration, innovation, and a sense of responsibility and dedication to cultivating a love of reading and competency in children, including, but not restricted to, those in resource-poor areas or areas of instability. Their work may involve: the creation and operation of outstanding reading promotion projects; effective promotion of strategies in favour of reading policies; and, advocacy of children’s right to read.

All nominees will be assessed using the following judging criteria (1-4). However, it is understood that the nominees do not need to meet all the listed criteria. These criteria will be applied according to the particular social, political, economic, and environmental circumstances in which the nominee has been working.


A key component of the Award is that the work of the nominee has demonstrated that it is truly sustainable. This can be shown through the following ways:

-     The nominee has shown evidence of exploration and practical experience over at least three years that can be verified and demonstrated with material evidence.

-     The nominee has demonstrated the ability to raise support and manage costs.

-     The nominee has clear plans for the future of the project and for the development of further goals and actions.

-     The nominee has developed effective mechanisms to obtain further resources and to ensure the continuous benefit and influence of the project.

-     The work of the nominee can be understood, adapted and expanded for different parts of the world and in different circumstances.


The nominee will be assessed on how much influence their work has made on the development and promotion of children’s reading. This can be demonstrated in several ways:

-     The nominee has made an outstanding contribution to children’s right to read; children’s reading promotion; and equality of access to reading education.

-     The nominee has contributed significantly to the development of the general public’s consciousness of the importance of reading.

-     The nominee has helped to shape the work of other reading promoters both nationally and internationally.

-     The nominee has influenced others in the field of reading education, both formal and informal, and has shown strength in creating networks and linkages in their community, where possible with:

i.       Governments

ii.       Industry connected to the book culture, such as publishing, booksellers, etc.

iii.       Media


The nominee will also be assessed on how their work has inspired others in the field of children’s reading and beyond. This can be demonstrated in several ways:

-     The nominee has practiced a spirit of generosity and a humanistic approach to the care of children.

-     The nominee has demonstrated a willingness and ability to share experiences and methods of children’s reading promotion and reading education.

-     The nominee can show that by their strategies, actions and methods they can inspire individuals, organizations, communities and governments to give priority to the benefits that children’s reading can create for the children and to their society.


The jury will assess if the nominee has used innovative ways to promote children’s reading. This can be demonstrated through the following ways:

-     The nominee has shown innovation in cooperation, communication and promotion of social engagement and has demonstrated an ability to mobilize the community.

-     The nominee has developed innovative strategies in research and development, and for the management of reading promotion and reading projects in educational environments.

-     The nominee has led the way in the introduction of new technologies, new methods and new modes to solve the children’s reading promotion and reading education challenges through the Internet and technological change.

Award Schedule

-    January 2019: invitation to submit nominations disseminated to IBBY National Sections.

-    30 June 2019: deadline for nominations.

-    July-September 2019: IBBY Reading Promotion Award Jury to assess all nominations.

-    September 2019: IBBY Reading Promotion Award Jury to meet for final assessment.

-    March/April 2020: The winners will be announced at the IBBY Press Conference at the Bologna Children’s Book Fair.

-    September 2020: Award ceremony at the IBBY Congress in Moscow, Russia, 5-7 September 2020.

Shenzhen Aiding Public Welfare Foundation

Agreement statement Copyright © 2015 iread Rights Reserved